How to Safely Factory Reset iPhone

Factory reset or hard reset is the final step that users often take when they want to sell their iPhone or repair iPhone software damage. By doing a factory reset, all iPhone settings will return to the same default settings as when they were new. User data will also be cleaned thoroughly from iPhone storage, starting from account data, applications, music, pictures, songs, and other data.

It should be noted that doing a factory reset on iOS 14 and iOS 15 requires a slightly different method. Before doing a factory reset, it's a good idea to backup important data on cloud drives and external storage such as hard drives, flash drives, etc.

If you are sure to delete all data on your iPhone, follow these steps to do a factory reset on your iPhone.


How to Factory Reset on iPhone


For iPhones with iOS 15 and above, you can do a factory reset with these steps:

  1. Go to Settings or Settings
  2. Scroll down then select the General option
  3. Select the Transfer or Reset iPhone option
  4. Click Erase All Content and Settings
  5. Follow the prompts and the factory reset process will automatically run.

For iPhones with iOS 14 or earlier, you can do a factory reset with these steps:

  1. Go to Settings or Settings
  2. Scroll down and select Reset
  3. Click Erase All Content and Settings
  4. Click Erase Now and enter your HP password to confirm
  5. Click Erase iPhone
  6. Enter your Apple ID password and click Erase
  7. When finished, your iPhone will automatically reset and all data and personal information will be erased.


You will also see the iOS welcome screen look the same as when you first bought an iPhone.

Related Post